Flags of the Commonwealth of Nations

The Commonwealth is an international organization made up of 56 member states from all inhabited continents, most of which belonged to the former British Empire. It was established with the Balfour Declaration at the Imperial Conference on 19 November 1926.

Since the death of his mother, Queen Elizabeth II, Charles III has presided over the Commonwealth as its leader. His title is king in fifteen of the member nations that make up the Commonwealth realms; the remaining thirty-six countries function as republics, and five have their own monarchs. 

Commonwealth CountryFlagCommonwealth CountryFlag
Antigua & Barbuda
Capital: St. John’s
Flag of Antigua & BarbudaMauritius
Capital: Port Louis
Flag of Mauritius
Capital: Canberra
Flag of AustraliaMozambique
Capital: Maputo
Flag of Mozambique
The Bahamas
Capital: Nassau

Flag of BahamasNamibia
Capital: Windhoek
Flag of Namibia
Capital: Dhaka
Flag of BangaladeshNauru
Capital: Yaren (Unofficially)
Flag of Nauru
Capital: Bridgetown
Flag of BarbadosNew Zealand
Capital: Wellington
Flag of New Zealand
Capital: Belmopan
Flag of BelizeNigeria
Capital: Abuja
Flag of Nigeria
Capital: Gaborone
Flag of BotswanaPakistan
Capital: Islamabad
Flag of Pakistan
Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan
Flag of BruneiPapua New Guinea
Capital: Port Moresby
Flag of Papua New Guinea
Capital: Yaounde
Flag of CameroonRwanda
Capital: Kigali
Flag of Rwanda
Capital: Ottawa
Flag of CanadaSt. Kitts & Nevis
Capital: Basseterre
Flag of St Kitts and Nevis
Capital: Nicosia
Flag of CyprusSt. Lucia
Capital: Castries
Flag of St Lucia
Capital: Roseau
Flag of DominicaSt. Vincent & The Grenadines
Capital: Kingstown
Flag of St Vincent and the Grenadines
Eswatini (Swaziland)
Capital: Mbabane/Lobamba
Flag of EswatiniSamoa
Capital: Apia
Flag of Samoa
Capital: Suva
Flag of FijiSeychelles
Capital: Victoria
Flag of Seychelles
Capital: Libreville
Flag of GabonSierra Leone
Capital: Freetown
Flag of Sierra Leone
The Gambia
Capital: Banjul
Flag of GambiaSingapore
Capital: Singapore
Flag of Singapore
Capital: Accra
Flag of GhanaSolomon Islands
Capital: Honiara
Flag of Solomon Islands
Capital: St. George’s
Flag of GrenadaSouth Africa
Capital: Pretoria / Cape Town / Bloemfontein
Flag of South Africa
Capital: Georgetown
Flag of GuyanaSri Lanka
Capital: Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte / Colombo
Flag of Sri Lanka
Capital: New Delhi
Flag of IndiaTanzania
Capital: Dodoma
Flag of Tanzania
Capital: Kingston
Flag of JamaicaTogo
Capital: Lomé
Flag of Togo
Capital: Nairobi
Flag of KenyaTonga
Capital: Nukuʻalofa
Flag of Tonga
Capital: South Tarawa
Flag of KiribatiTrinidad & Tobago
Capital: Port of Spain
Flag of Trinidad and Tobago
Capital: Maseru
Flag of LesothoTuvalu
Capital: Funafuti
Flag of Tuvalu
Capital: Lilongwe
Flag of MalawiUganda
Capital: Kampala
Flag of Uganda
Capital: Kuala Lumpur / Putrajaya
Flag of MalaysiaUnited Kingdom
Capital: London
Flag of United Kingdom
Capital: Malé
Flag of MaldivesVanuatu
Capital: Port Vila
Flag of Vanuatu
Capital: Valletta
Flag of MaltaZambia
Capital: Lusaka
Flag of Zambia

The Commonwealth headship is notable for not being entirely inherited. While not legally bound by one another, these member states are connected by history, culture, and the English language. Commonwealth countries keep diplomatic contacts through high commissions rather than embassies, and citizenship in one of these countries has certain benefits, especially in the UK.

The values of democracy, human rights, and the rule of law are emphasized in the Commonwealth Charter and are further promoted by the quadrennial Commonwealth Games.

Flag of Commonwealth of Nations

The Commonwealth of Nations’ official flag was revised in 2013 from its 1976 iteration. The flag depicts a globe surrounded by 34 sunrays making the letter ‘C’ for ‘Commonwealth.’ The design emphasizes the various ways in which the Commonwealth collaborates around the world. The flag is available in a 3:5 ratio, but it is also used in a 1:2 ratio for countries with that ratio, such as Australia and the United Kingdom.

For more information including Population, Area, Currency and Country Shape see our guide books: Flags & Countries of The World or Flags & Countries of The World Pocket Reference Guide