Flag of Uganda

Flag of Uganda

Bendera ya Uganda

The Republic of Uganda (Yuganda) is a country in East Africa. It shares borders with Kenya, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda and Tanzania. Its official languages are English and Swahili. Over 70 other languages are spoken here. The capital and largest city is Kampala.

The Ugandan flag was adopted in October 1962 when Uganda became independent from Britain. The design consists of six equal horizontal bands of black yellow, red, black, yellow and red. At the center is a crested crane, the national symbol of Uganda, on a white disc.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Kampala241,038 km² / 93,065 mi²
Ugandan shilling
1:2 (0.5)1962

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *