Flag of Mauritius

Flag of Mauritius

Four Bands, Les Quatre Bandes

Mauritius is an island nation located in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar about 2,000 kilometers off the southeast coast of Africa. The official languages are Mauritian Creole, French, and English. The capital and largest city is Port Louis.

Also known as ‘Four Bands’ or ‘Les Quatre Bandes’, the flag of Mauritius was adopted in March 1968. The design consists of four equal width horizontal bands of red, blue, yellow and green.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Port Louis2,040 km² / 788 mi²
Mauritian rupee
2:3 (1.5)1968

The national anthem of Mauritius is “Motherland” “Terre de nos aïeux” (land of our forefathers)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *