Flag of Samoa

Flag of Samoa

Samoa, officially known as the Independent State of Samoa, is an island country located in the Polynesian region of Oceania, with Savai’i, Upolu, Manono and Apolima as its main islands. It is located west of American Samoa, northeast of Tonga and Fiji, east of Wallis and Futuna, southeast of Tuvalu, and southwest of Hawaii. Its official languages are Samoan and English and its capital and largest city is Apia.

The flag of Samoa in use since 1949 was officially adopted in January 1962. The design consists of a red field with the blue rectangle on the upper left canton which features a Southern Cross constellation made up of four white five-pointed stars with a smaller star at the center.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2022 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Apia2,831 km² / 1,093 mi²
Samoan tālā (WST)1:2 (0.5)1962

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *