Flag of Malawi

Flag of Malawi

mbendera ya Malaŵi

The national flag of Malawi, Dziko la Malaŵi (Chichewa) (Charu cha Malaŵi) formerly Nyasaland, is a country in Southeastern Africa. It shares borders with Zambia, Tanzania and Mozambique. Its official languages are English and Chewa. The capital and largest city is Lilongwe.

The national flag of Malawi was officially adopted in July 1964 after independence from Britain. The design consists of three horizontal bands of black, red, and green; Centered on the on the black stripe is a red rising sun with 31 rays.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *