Flag of New Zealand

Flag of New Zealand

New Zealand Ensign

New Zealand (Aotearoa) is an island country in the Pacific Ocean in Oceania. Situated east of Australia it consists of the North Island (Te Ika-a-Māui) and the South Island (Te Waipounamu) and over 700 smaller islands. Its official languages are English, Māori and New Zealand Sign Language. The capital city is Wellington and its largest city is Auckland.

The flag of New Zealand has been in use since 1869 and was adopted in 1902. The design is a blue field with a Union flag in the canton and four white outlined five-pointed red stars on the right hand side which represent the Southern Cross constellation.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Wellington270,467 km² / 104,428 mi²
New Zealand dollar
1:2 (0.5)1902

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *