Flag of Australia

Flag of Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia is a country in Australasia and Oceania. It is made up of 8,222 islands including the Australian continent and Tasmania. Its national language is English. The capital is Canberra and the largest city is Sydney.

The Australian flag came into use in 1901 and was adopted in 1903. The design consists of a dark blue background with the Union Jack in the top left (canton) with a seven pointed Commonwealth Star below. The right hand side features five more stars representing the Southern Cross constellation.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2021 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Canberra7,692,024 km² / 2,969,907 mi²
Australian dollar (AUD)1:2 (0.5)1901

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *