Flag of Nauru

Flag of Nauru

Nauru, officially known as the Republic of Nauru, is a small island country located in Micronesia in the Pacific Ocean. It is the world’s third-smallest country by area. It is located northeast of Australia and is surrounded by a coral reef. The official languages are Nauruan and English. The de-facto capital is Yaren and largest city is Denigomodu.

The flag of Nauru was adopted in January 1968. The design consists of a blue field intersected with a thin yellow horizontal stripe through the center. A white twelve-pointed star is featured in the bottom left hoist side representing the Iruwa, Eamwit, Eamwitmwit, Emea, Deiboe, Eano, Eoaru, Eamwidira, Emangum, Ranibok, Irutsi, and Iwi tribes or clans.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Yaren (De-facto)21 km² / 8 mi²
Australian dollar
1:2 (0.5)1968

Nauru’s national anthem: “Nauru Bwiema” (Nauruan for “Nauru, our homeland”)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *