Flags of South America

An Alphabetical list of all the Flags and Capital Cities of the South American Continent. Click on the flags below to find out more details about each country and flag.

For more information including Population, Area, Currency and Country Shape see our guide books: Flags & Countries of The World or Flags & Countries of The World Pocket Reference Guide

If you want to test how well you know the flags of South America, then try our quiz here!

Capital: Buenos Aires
Flag of ArgentinaGuyana
Capital: Georgetown
Flag of Guyana
Capital: Boliviano
Flag of BoliviaParaguay
Capital: Asunción
Flag of Paraguay
Capital: Brasília

Flag of BrazilPeru
Capital: Lima
Flag of Peru
Capital: Santiago
Flag of ChileSuriname
Capital: Paramaribo
Flag of Suriname
Capital: Bogotá
Flag of ColombiaUruguay
Capital: Montevideo
Flag of Uruguay
Capital: Quito
Flag of EcuadorVenezuela
Capital: Caracas
Flag of Venezuela

There are 12 South American countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela. It has an area of 17,840,000 km2 (6,890,000 sq.miles) making it the 4th largest continent.

This video shows every country and their position on the map, listed in alphabetical order. For each country you will learn about:

The location of the country and capital,
The national flag designs
Area of the country in km / miles sq. with continent size rank,
A photo of the county
The capital city or cities: Buenos Aires, Sucre/La Paz, Brasilia, Santiago, Bogotá, Quito, Georgetown, Asunción, Lima, Paramaribo, Montevideo and Caracas.
Official languages spoken
Currency used