Flag of Tuvalu

Flag of Tuvalu

Tuvalu formerly known as the Ellice Islands is an island country in the Polynesian region of Oceania in the Pacific Ocean. The islands are situated between Hawaii to the Northeast and Australia to the Southwest. Its official languages are Tuvaluan and English. The capital and largest city is Funafuti.

The Tuvaluan flag was adopted in April 1997. The design features a Union flag in the top left corner (canton) on a field of light blue. On the right hand side (fly half), nine yellow five-pointed stars are arranged to represent a map of the nine islands of Tuvalu.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Funafuti26 km² / 10 mi²
Tuvaluan dollar (AUD is also accepted)1:2 (0.5)1997

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *