Flag of Algeria

Flag of Algeria

The Peoples Democratic Republic of Algeria الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية (al-Jumhūriyya al-Jazāʾiriyya ad-Dīmuqrāṭiyya aš‑Šaʿbiyya) (République algérienne démocratique et populaire) is a country in North Africa. It is located in the Maghreb region and shares borders with Tunisia, Libya, Niger, Mali, Mauritania and Morocco. Its official languages are Arabic and Tamazight. The capital and largest city is Algiers.

The flag of Algeria was adopted in July 1962. The design consists of two equal vertical bands of green and white with a red crescent encircling a red five-pointed star overlaid at the center.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2022 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Algiers2,381,741 km² / 919,595 mi²
Algerian dinar (DZD)2:3 (1.5)1962

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *