Flag of Colombia

Flag of Colombia

El Tricolor Nacional (The National Tricolor)

The Republic of Colombia (República de Colombia) is a country in South America. It shares land borders with Venezuela, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru and Panama. Seventy languages are spoken, the official language is Spanish. The capital and largest city is Bogotá

The Colombian flag was adopted in November 1861. The design consists of three horizontal bands of yellow (double-width) representing the wealth of the Colombian soil, blue which symbolizes the sky and red for the blood spilled for the country’s independence.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *