Flag of Burkina Faso

Flag of Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso, officially known as the Republic of Burkina Faso, is a landlocked country located in West Africa. It shares land borders with Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Côte d’Ivoire. The official language is French, recognized languages are Mossi, Bissa, Dyula and Fula. The capital and largest city is Ouagadougou.

The flag of Burkina Faso was adopted in August 1984. The design consists of two equal horizontal bands in the Pan-African colors of red and green with a yellow five-pointed star at the center.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Ouagadougou274,200 km² / 105,869 mi²
West African CFA franc (XOF)2:3 (1.5)1984

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *