Flag of Austria

Flag of Austria

Austria, officially known as the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It is bordered by Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The official language is German. The capital and largest city is Vienna.

The Austrian flag in use since 1230 was officially adopted in May 1945. The design consists of a horizontal triband of red white and red.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Vienna83,879 km² / 32,386 mi²
2:3 (1.5)1945

The national anthem of Austria is “Land der Berge, Land am Strome” (Land of Mountains, Land by the River). 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *