Flag of Micronesia

Flag of Micronesia

Micronesia, officially known as the Federated States of Micronesia, is a country located in the western Pacific Ocean. It is composed of four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae. Micronesia shares maritime borders with the Philippines, Palau, and the Marshall Islands. The official languages are English, Yapese, Chuukese, Pohnpeian, Kosraean, Ulithian, and Woleaian. The capital is Palikir, located in Pohnpei State and its largest town is Weno.

The Micronesian flag was adopted in November 1978. The design consists of four white five-pointed stars representing the states of Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae and Yap. These stars are arranged in a diamond pattern in the center of a light blue field to symbolize the ocean.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Palikir702 km² / 271 mi²
US Dollar
10:19 (1.9)1978

Micronesia’s national anthem is “Patriots of Micronesia”.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *