Flag of Liechtenstein

Flag of Liechtenstein

Flagge Liechtensteins

The Principality of Liechtenstein is a microstate situated in the Alpine region of europe between Austria and Switzerland. Its official language is German. Made up of 11 municipalities the largest of which is Schaan, the capital city is Vaduz.

The flag of Liechtenstein was adopted in June 1982. The design features two equal horizontal bands of blue and red. A gold crown representing the country’s prince is in the top left (canton). The crown was added in 1937 after the country found out at the Summer Olympics in 1936 that their flag was identical to the civil flag of Haiti.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Vaduz160 km² / 62 mi²
Swiss franc
12:17 (0.706)1982

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *