Flag of Turkey

Flag of Turkey

Türk bayrağı, al bayrak, the red flag

The Republic of Turkey (Türkiye) is a country located between Western Asia and Southeast Europe. It shares borders with Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Greece and Bulgaria. Its official language is Turkish. The capital is Ankara and its largest city is Istanbul.

The Turkish Flag is derived from the Ottoman flag. It was formally adopted in May 1936. The design features at white star and crescent slightly off center to the left on a red field.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Ankara783,562 km² / 302,535 mi²
Turkish lira
2:3 (1.5)1936

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *