Flag of Ireland

Republic of Ireland Flag

Ireland (Éire), also known as the Republic of Ireland is a country in North Western Europe which comprises 26 of the 32 counties in the island of Ireland. It has a border with Northern Ireland to the north. Its official languages are Irish and English. Its capital and largest city is Dublin.

The flag of Ireland (Bratach na hÉireann) was adopted in 1922. The design consists of a vertical tricolor (an trídhathach in Irish) of green, white and orange. The color green represents the Roman Catholics, orange the Protestants. The white symbolizes peace between them.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *