Flag of Laos

Flag of Laos

ທຸງຊາດລາວ, thungsad Lāo, Sam si

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic (ສາທາລະນະລັດ ປະຊາທິປະໄຕ ປະຊາຊົນລາວ / République démocratique populaire lao), is a country in Southeast Asia. It shares borders with Myanmar, China, Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand. Its official language is English, spoken languages are Lao, French, Khmu, Hmong, Phu Thai and Tai. The capital and largest city is Vientiane.

The flag of Laos was first used in 1945 and re-adopted in December 1975 when it became a socialist state. The design consists of three horizontal stripes of red, double width blue, and red. A white disc is at the center of the blue stripe,

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2023 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Vientiane236,800 km2 / 91,400 mi²
Kip2:3 (1.5)1975

National Anthem of Laos: ພງຊາດລາວ Pheng Xat Lao “Hymn of the Lao People”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *