Flag of Finland

Flag of Finland

Finland, officially known as the Republic of Finland, is a Nordic country located in Northern Europe. It is bordered by Sweden to the west, Norway to the north, Russia to the east, and Estonia to the south across the Gulf of Finland. The official languages of Finland are Finnish and Swedish. The capital city is Helsinki, and the largest city is also Helsinki.

The flag of Finland was adopted in May 1918. Known as siniristilippu meaning blue cross flag, the design consists of a Sea-blue Nordic cross on a white field. The blue symbolizes the lakes, and the white is for the snow that covers the country.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2022 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Helsinki338,424 km² / 130,666 mi²
Euro (EUR)11:18 (1.6)1918

The national anthem of Finland: “Maamme” (Our Land).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *