Flag of Guinea-Bissau

Flag of Guinea Bissau

Guinea-Bissau marks Pidjiguiti Day on August 3rd annually. A national public holiday is held to mark the anniversary of the Pidjiguiti massacre which happened in 1959.

The flag of Guinea-Bissau was adopted on independence from Portugal in September 1973. The design consists of two equal horizontal stripes of yellow and green. The hoist features a vertical red stripe with a black star at its center.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *