Flag of Scotland

Scottish Saltire Flag

Scotland is a country that is part of the United Kingdom. Sharing a border with England, it covers the northern part of the island of Great Britain. Its official languages are English, Scots and Scottish Gaelic. Its capital city is Edinburgh and its largest city is Glasgow.

The flag of Scotland also known as the Andrew’s Cross or the Saltire was adopted in 1512 although it had been in use since the 14th Century. The design consists of a blue field with an X shaped white saltire that extends to the four corners.

Capital CityArea (World Ranking)2022 Population (World Ranking)CurrencyFlag Ratio (Decimal)Adopted
Edinburgh78,387 km² / 30,414 mi²
Pound sterling (GBP)2:3 (1.5)1512

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *