State flag of Missouri

Missouri United States of America Flag

The Show Me State; Cave State; Mother of the West

Missouri is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is bordered by Iowa to the north, Illinois to the east, Kentucky and Tennessee to the southeast, Arkansas to the south, and Oklahoma, Kansas, and Nebraska to the west. The capital city of Missouri is Jefferson City, while its largest city is Kansas City.

The flag of Missouri consists of three horizontal stripes of red, white, and blue. In the center of the flag is the state seal, which features a grizzly bear representing courage, a crescent moon symbolizing the newness of statehood, and 24 stars representing Missouri as the 24th state to join the Union. Surrounding the seal are two blue bands with the state motto, “Salus Populi Suprema Lex Esto” (Let the welfare of the people be the supreme law), written in white letters.

State Song: “Missouri Waltz”

Motto: “Salus Populi Suprema Lex Esto” (Let the welfare of the people be the supreme law)

Where is Missouri on the US Map?

Missouri MO United States of America
American State names abbreviated

Capital Date Admitted to UnionPopulation (State Ranking)Area (State Ranking)Flag Adopted
Jefferson CityAugust 10, 1821 (24th state)Approximately 6.1 million (18th largest)69,715 square miles (21st largest)March 22, 1913

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *